Skip to content
left end
left end
right end
British Liver Trust
The Trust has dedicated resources for people with liver disease. Their aim is to reach out to as many people as possible by providing information and support, and lobbying for the services people with liver disease need.
arrow Find out more

The Team

Medical Staff

Dr Fiona Gordon, Consultant Hepatologist and Hep C ODN lead

Special Interests: Viral Hepatitis and Hepatobiliary endoscopic ultrasound.

Dr Anne McCune, Consultant Hepatologist and Clinical Director

Special interests: Alcohol-related liver disease, complex portal hypertension (variceal bleeding and ascites), hereditary haemochromatosis and autoimmune liver diseases

Dr James Orr, Consultant Hepatologist

Special interests: Liver cancer, Cirrhosis and its complications, Liver transplant assessment and follow up, Community Hepatology

Dr Jim Portal, Consultant Hepatologist and Endoscopy Lead

Special interests: Hepatobiliary disease / Hepatobiliary endoscopy, Liver transplant assessment, Liver related renal injury, adolescent hepatology.

Our clinical team also includes a clinical research fellow and a registrar.

Dr Gautham Appanna, Consultant Hepatologist.

Specialist interests:  Prevention/early detection of liver disease, Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), Cirrhosis and portal hypertension management, Vascular disorders of the liver, Liver Transplantation.

Dietician: Gabby Edwards

Pharmacist: Matthew Pitman

Specialist Nurse Teams

Hepatology specialist nurse: Victoria Hunt, cirrhosis, day case paracentesis and primary liver cancer

Transplant specialist nurses: Amy Williams and Sarah Lees,liver transplant coordinators

Viral specialist nurses: Jane Gitahi, Jeesha George and Vivian Delatorre, Hepatitis C and other blood borne viruses

Alcohol specialist nurses: Sarah Saleem, Jodi Warner, Lucy Kroumer and Grace Cameron

A522 Ward Manager: Jody Saunders

Management Team

Paul Harris: Specialty Manager

Lea Staynings: Assistant specialty manager

Jenny Wring: Clinic coordinators

Ruby Morecroft, Heather Northcott, Lois Morecroft, and Julianne Jones: Medical Secretary Team           


Contact information